top of page

Album Review: Rouge's New Era Sessions


Ladies and Gentlemen today we're talking about the Congolese/South African rapper, Rouge's album, New Era Sessions. Now before we go straight into it, I know some of ya'll are up like "but this came out last year, why do a review now, no one cares". Well unlike you fucktards, I actually take time to listen to music. I'm old school like that. you know? Digest and dissect the music before giving it a review. Who in the hell would make up their mind about an album after 2 listens. Anyway let's get into it.


P.S. I don't think that Zkhiphani and YoMzansi were wrong for writing prolific reviews after a day the album was released. In fact what you're about to read here is my opinion which no one asked for, but we don't care.. we are Organized Criminals (Muhahaha hahahah hahaha)



Let's start with my introduction to the artist, Rouge. Okay so one time, I was visiting my moms and thought, hey why not catch up TV since I never watch it. As I was flicking through the boring channels, something caught my eye (I had the TV on mute, so the visuals were interesting). This something was the Kyle Lewis directed video, BONGO ZAKA. What I liked about it was that it looked like a new concept. So I turn the volume up and immediately got hooked by the beat and the flow and the rhyme scheme. I had to listen no doubt. Nomuzi's verse was also a factor that caught me off guard. Yeah I've heard her rap before, but this time it was different. It was as if, this lady she is rapping with was feeding her energy. Too dope.


Fast forward a few months later (lol like they do in the movies...cue in fast visual effect) and I get an opportunity to see Rouge live at some concert in Cape Town. To be honest I had forgotten about her and was once again taken aback by her performance. She and Nomuzi were like Goku & Vegeta on stage. A true sight to see.... too dope for real.



Now to the album, New Era Sessions. The album was released in September last year, with a solid buzz around the artist, I was keen on hearing it, but I actually let it sit for a month before giving it a listen.


So what do I think? First of all, can we stop calling people female MC? Do you ever distinguish a female Dr and a male one? NO! I bet you don't!.

Rouge is dope MC, a lyricist and she got hella mad flow that will make your fave start questioning his ability to rap!


New Era Session is a conceptual album and has got structure and is not all over the place. It's like a story which focuses on four themes, Old school, Trap, Love and Woman empowerment, with each chapter introduced by an AI with a French/Congolese accent. It's soo beautiful. The beats are also on point (if you know any producers, please hit me up so I can give credit to where it is due).

As Phonte would say, "Dope beats, dope rhymes, what more do ya'll want?".

My issue with New Era Sessions is that Rouge sounds like she is proving herself as an equal Mc to her male counterparts. Yes rap is about proving you're the shit, but with this album, I honestly wish to have seen her being comfortable to be herself. With the structure, the album becomes somewhat predictable and this does not allow me as a listener to explore and discover the music on my own. She leads me to a conclusion with every track. Also the themes chosen are not really exciting for me personally because these have been done to death and maybe it's a matter of approach, I don't know. If Rouge wanted to prove her status as a dope Mc, then she could've done it in a different way.



However, with all the above being said, New Era Sessions is dope ass album. Rouge has shown the ability to rap about anything and I like how she is influenced by old school hip hop but does not deny the existence of Trap. She blends the two perfectly.


Ohhhhh yeah.... Rouge for me is a mirror reflection of Little Simz. Both Mc's are deadly on the mic and have the skill to murder any track. Both their 2017 projects were conceptual projects about self discovery. They're both proud of their African heritage. Hmmmmmmmm, they might be from parallel universe.



Excited to see the New Era Sessions movie coming out soon. Which I think will complete the full conceptual body of work put out by the Mc.


This gets a solid 7.5 outta 10.


Disclaimer alert: @Rouge please let us know if you're Congolese or if we made a grave mistake. (our interns don't get paid enough to do research).

Feel free to halla at the head of the Organized Crime family at nymlessb@gmail.com.


This review has been sponsored by the good folks at Earthworm Kamp.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page